Success Or Excellence: Which Do You Strive For?

I was recently asked an interesting question: which would I prefer, success or excellence?

My opinion is that if you strive for just one or the other, either way you will be left high and dry in the end.

Our company’s tagline is “Your Success is Our Business” however part of our mission is to change the perception of how salespeople are viewed by making them “excellent.”

You can certainly have success without excellence. Look at Microsoft for example. If I put out a product, then realized that it had flaws, I’d generally be expected to fix those flaws for my clients so they could use what I sold them. Not Microsoft. They can put out an inferior product, fix it, then attempt to sell you the fixed version to replace the one you have. If you don’t buy it soon enough, they will stop supporting the older version, in effect forcing you to buy the “fixed” version. A successful strategy? Yes, it has made them tons of money…but excellent? I think not.

On the other hand, have you ever gone out to a festival, or just walked down a street and heard a street performer and said to yourself…”They are amazing. How is it that they are playing at a festival for free when they are so much better than the crap I hear on the radio?”

Many of those musicians have achieved excellence, but not the success, at least financially, to allow them to continue to do what they are great at.

When we work with sales teams, whether it is providing sales management, working with them in our peer advisory groups, or becoming their inside sales team, we strive to help them be both successful and excellent. If I play basketball, I want to try to beat Michael Jordan.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

